Watching Fate in Order: A Beginner’s Guide

There are several ways to watch the Fate anime series. You can watch it in either chronological or release order. When you watch a story in chronological order, you watch the events as they happened, whereas release order is when you view the story in the order in which the episodes were released.

The Fate series is a popular anime with a large fan base. If you’re one of those people, you’re probably wondering what order you should watch the show in. This post will go over the different options so you can choose the best way to enjoy the Fate series.

Read Also:

Fate in Order

If you want to watch the Fate series in chronological order, here is how you should do it:

1) Start with Fate/Zero. This prequel anime tells the story of what happened leading up to the Holy Grail War featured in Fate/Stay Night. It’s important to watch this first so that you understand all of the events that led up to Fate/Stay Night.

2) After watching Fate/Zero, move on to Fate/stay night. This is where the main story takes place and follows Shirou Emiya as he gets drawn into the Holy Grail War.

3) Once you’ve finished watching Fate/stay night, you can then move on to any of the spin-off series if you’re interested in them. These include Fate/Apocrypha, Fate/Extra Last Encore, and more.

4) Finally, end with Heaven’s Feel. This movie trilogy adapts one of the routes from fate/stay night and tells a completely different side of Shirou’s story.

If you watch the anime series in this order, you will understand all that is going on and will not be confused by any story elements later on.

The following are the Fate anime series in chronological order:

  1. Fate/Zero (2011)
  2. Fate/Stay Night (2006)
  3. Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (2010)
  4. Fate/Stay Night: Heaven’s Feel (2017)
  5. Fate/kaleid liner PRISMA ILLYA (2013)
  6. Fate/Grand Order (anime movie) (2020)
  7. Fate Apocrypha (2017)
  8. Fate/Extra Last Encore (2018)
  9. Fate/Grand Order: Zettai Majuu Sensen Babylonia (2019)
Pratik Ranjan
Writer & Editor


Related Articles